Why Do You Think H5 Wasn't Good

WulfeBear

Auditor

Auditor

I have been on the forums for about 5 hours, so maybe I'm wrong, but my experience has been that a lot of folks didn't like or do not like Halo 5.

I just skimmed the surface of this conversation on Discord and feel it would be appropriate for discussion here.

In fact, maybe you like or even love Halo 5...You might also have a mental defect, but I'm not a doctor...

The reason I don't like Halo 5 is almost entirely because of the narrative...I love Master Chief, but I think after 4 games it was 343's chance to move on from him (which is what I thought the entire point of introducing Locke was for). Maybe you don't retire him, but you have him as a background player, someone you can see and interact with, but you don't play as and he certainly doesn't have a central role. I mean we are talking about someone who had a very centralized role and relationship with the Arbiter and Elites in general, they could have had him be the chief liason for humanity and the Arbiter.

I thought 5 was really an opportunity for 343 to take control of the narrative and explore someone else...And, they botched it...

The multiplayer is another story...is it just me or do the maps feel very blank canvasy...?

Intelligence Officer

Intelligence Officer

• [C] UNIT LEADER
  • ACCESS [4] TOP SECRET〔CW〕

Halo 5: Guardians is better than Halo 4 but a let down in the months leading up to it. It was a let down because they shifted the story to a totally different narrative, they decided Hunt the Truth and the deserting AWOL John-117 wasn't worth following over the Cortana created story. The created were going to happen either way but to introduce Locke's team to follow Blue team wasn't the way to go about it. In the end its still not as bad as Halo 4 which design changes broke the story. Why does Chief have new armor from being in cryo sleep. That was just the beginning of the end for 343.